I’ve got New Scientist on my favourites. I’ve also been buying the magazine for more years than I care to remember. One of it’s stories when I browsed over is the anniversary of spam.

Thankfully I don’t get too much spam the inbox of the various emails I have but this domain has been hijacked by spammers on a few occasions. Every now and then a glut of ‘returned’ emails comes in to shadowdevil dot com saying they couldn’t deliver to such and such an address.

According to compila, with whom I have a hosting package, nothing can be done about this. But it is pretty crap that someone can send an email with my domain name as a return address. The ones that don’t get through get bounced back to me – increasing my bandwidth – and the ones that do get through make someone swear at shadowdevil dot com for sending them spam.

