I saw a post on the Antics forum telling that this software package is now free. Curious I went over to the Caligari website and found that it was true enough. Truespace 7.6 for free, no serial number needed, just sign up and dowload.

I’ve used the program before. Version 1 has been freeware for a few years now and a few computer magazines in Britain have put other versions on their cover discs, I think up to around version three or four.

Of course since then Microsoft have bought out the company and it looks like they are positioning it as their answer to Google’s Sketchup: both applications working with the respective mapping applications, Google Earth and Virtual Earth.

Truespace has always had a quirky interface, and version 7.6 increases this. It’s very slow on a Vista machine, which means it’s resource hungry or not fully optimised for Vista. Given the fact that it’s now owned by Microsoft I’d go for the former.

So I don’t think I’ll be dumping Lightwave any time soon.

I might play around with it, but its’ help files have always been a problem, and they are a massive 60MB download of PDF files. No searchable html help files then. I find them much more useful than Acrobat files.

It seems to have a lot more features than the version I have lurking around somewhere, but without adequate road maps I wont be able to find them quickly. And it takes up about half a gigabyte of disk space. Lightwave takes up hardly any; it can go to a couple of gigabytes but only if I add the content that comes with Lightwave. But it doesn’t hurt to have an extra tool in the armoury.

