I have a backup of my laptop via Norton Ghost V14. I bought an external USB drive specifically to keep back ups on. Version 14 of Ghost does conversions of Ghost files to Virtual Hard Disk files – both Microsoft and the other one, which I can’t care to remember.

I’ve had various mishaps trying to convert Norton files to VHD files and today I finally succeeded. The problem was the FAT32 file system, which has a 4GB file size limit. (I’m 99% sure that’s what the problem is.)

Today I user Ghost to convert a recent backup to a VHD file. After one failure it worked. I had a 46 Gigabyte files sitting on my hard disk. I created a new machine in Virtual PC and let it load up. But it seems the copy protection in Vista spoiled everything as all I got was continuous setting up of the machine and then an error dialogs followed by continuous reboots.

So I never got to see my own laptop running within a virtual machine on my own laptop.

