I Got a lot of DVD viewing to do over the next couple of weeks. I picked up a copy of the first series of Babylon 5 at Asda for only £10. I saw some of this TV series when it was shown on Channel 4 in the eighties (?). I was mainly interested in it because all the special effects were done with Amiga computers using Lightwave. I had an Amiga at the time but not Lightwave: I have Lightwave now. I don’t think I saw much of it after the first series – not having a TV makes watching TV difficult.

Thank God for DVD, which allowed me to impulse purchase series on DVD. The Shield was one such programme, The Wire another. Being able to watch them at my leisure, when I wanted, without ads or other interruptions such as waiting another week is a godsend.

Back to Babylon 5. I sort of fell off watching it. I have a couple of paperbacks which were spin off novels, released when it was still being show on TV. I did purchase Season 3 a few months ago and dipped in and out of it. Then after the Asda purchase I saw that all series were on sale for about £11 from Amazon. So I duffed up the credit card and bought the missing ones – Season 2, 4 and 5. I’ll see if I can get back into the series, but I do have a non fiction book about a Pict battle way back in the dark ages which supposedly forged Scotland, and I’m wading (struggling actually) through a James Kellman.

